Catalogue > After Hokusai, op. 89


Full details:

After Hokusai

After Hokusai
Five Duets for Two Flutes based on prints by Hokusai (1760–1849)
Date of composition May 1983
Opus number 89
Type of work Concert music
Duration 6 mins
Musical forces Two Flutes
Commissioner Universal Edition
Publisher Universal Edition (London) Ltd
Publisher’s product page After Hokusai
Notes Movements are: 1. Cormorant in the Snow; 2. Carp in a Waterfall; 3. Azaleas and Cuckoo; 4. Peonies and Butterfly; 5. Frog on an old Tile


After Hokusai can be recommended in its own right musically, and for its provision of new and interesting performance material for the intermediate level flautist.

International Journal of Music Education, May 1985

Both intermediate and the most advanced players will find this work a breath of fresh air. Reviewer’s Choice: Music of exceptional quality

Flute Talk, January 1986